Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Windows Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2017, 08:01 AM   #81
CodeKiller
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1
Default

Hello,

To see how big the impact is, you can just run a 2D games that does not require graphic card.
Then you will see that the System is using more ressources than the game itself !

Check that :


Same thing for the 3rd process, if I just move the window game on the main monitor (laptop) the CPU decreases.

Everything is updated on my side.
CodeKiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 08:21 AM   #82
Novi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2
Default Version 1709

Unfortunately, even in current Windows 10 Insider Preview fast ring (version 1709) we have bad performance on Dell XPS 13 with D3100 dock . Although the experience has changed like CSystems mentioned in his post.

CPU usage by the Windows Driver Foundation has decreased and actual graphical processes have improved (more fluent). All in all CPU usage is still unstable and very high. Mouse movement has lag on high CPU usage moments.
Novi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:46 AM   #83
toywrc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1
Default

just wanted to share my observation regarding this problem... I also had the high CPU and memory usage, downloaded and installed latest update from displaylink (i have Lenovo USB 3.0 Ultra dock running dual monitors) still the same problem.

So adjusted performance settings to custom and just checked smooth edges on screen fonts and smooth scroll list boxes. Immediately upon applying settings CPU usage went down from 75% to 4%. So I guess thats a good workaround for now.

However when I let my wife log into her account (both are admin accounts) to check whether the performance settings were carried over to her profile... to my surprise it was still on the default "Let windows choose whats best" setting. Went to check CPU usage and they are all low usage 4%. Thought thats weird. basically we have identical profile and same apps loaded. Now I wonder if there is something wrong with my profile and all these problems are related to it.

I will try to create a new profile and log on to that.... will be reporting back.
toywrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.