DisplayLink Forum

DisplayLink Forum (https://displaylink.org/forum/index.php)
-   Windows Software (https://displaylink.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   Gigabit Ethernet not working on Targus USB 3.0 Docking Station (https://displaylink.org/forum/showthread.php?t=1696)

benski 05-22-2012 08:01 AM

Gigabit Ethernet not working on Targus USB 3.0 Docking Station
 
Hi I have just bought the Targus USB 3.0 Docking Station and have installed the displaylink update DisplayLink-6.3M0 file and I can't get the gigabit ethernet port to work. The cable is fine as I can connect it into the back of my laptop (Dell XPS14z) and it detects the network immediately. When I plug the cable (CAT 6) into the back of the docking station it disaplys in the network dialogue that the cable is unplugged. I have tried this with different cables just to make sure it wan't a cable issue and I get the same issue that it is not detecting the cable. When I plug the cable into the port I see that the green light next to port lights up and remains on so I assume it is detecting cable. I am thinkiong it is a driver issue which is resulting in a failure to replicate this port to the laptop through USB 3.0. Any help would be appreciated

Thanks:confused:

Wim 05-22-2012 12:49 PM

Can you run the debug tool and post the output so we can see the state of the USB Ethernet?

http://kb.displaylink.com/269

Thanks

Wim

benski 05-23-2012 12:34 AM

Fixed
 
Hi Wim

Thanks for your work here. I read one of your other posts and uninstalled displaylink software and reinstalled it and then ran update and installed updated software. It worked and I now have ethernet.

Thanks

Ben

LandArch25 08-12-2012 02:17 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Wim (Post 6642)
Can you run the debug tool and post the output so we can see the state of the USB Ethernet?

http://kb.displaylink.com/269

Thanks

Wim

Wim,

I'm having the same issue, but I updated everything and reinstalled the displaylink drivers with no results. Attached is my support zip file.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I feel like I've tried everything.

Wim 08-13-2012 11:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LandArch25 (Post 7493)
Wim,

I'm having the same issue, but I updated everything and reinstalled the displaylink drivers with no results. Attached is my support zip file.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I feel like I've tried everything.

Your logs seem to show that the Ethernet cable is not plugged in:

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : DisplayLink USB Gigabit Network Adapter #4
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-9B-03-3C-90
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Either the Ethernet cable doesn't work, or there is a hardware fault. I assume the LEDs on the RJ45 are not on either, so its not showing a physical link.

Don't think I can debug this any further, as I don't think its a driver issue (unless the hardware does think there is a link)

Wim

Brandan 09-21-2012 05:33 PM

I've had the same problem with Targus (what a POS) on my new Dell Ultra Slim laptop. After trying different drivers, trying different ports, plugging and unplugging i gave up and bought a USB 3.0 gigabit adapter and now don't care about the one built into the port replicator. That thing is just buggy despite what the manufacturer claims (read Amazon reviews if you want)

If you want to get done with this quickly - just do what i did and get yourself a USB gig adapter (i got mine here http://www.usb3gigabit.com/)

A quick update - this is not a problem with display link in any way, there is something wrong with the targus hardware

Wim 09-24-2012 10:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brandan (Post 7853)
I've had the same problem with Targus (what a POS) on my new Dell Ultra Slim laptop. After trying different drivers, trying different ports, plugging and unplugging i gave up and bought a USB 3.0 gigabit adapter and now don't care about the one built into the port replicator. That thing is just buggy despite what the manufacturer claims (read Amazon reviews if you want)

If you want to get done with this quickly - just do what i did and get yourself a USB gig adapter (i got mine here http://www.usb3gigabit.com/)

A quick update - this is not a problem with display link in any way, there is something wrong with the targus hardware

Can you tell me which Targus docking station you have (ACP70 or ACP71)?

Thanks

Wim

Brandan 09-25-2012 07:07 AM

ACP70USZ...

I got it a little while back from an online store and haven't tried some of the features until just recently, so didn't even know something isn't working

jbrown70 10-02-2012 04:22 PM

used to work
 
1 Attachment(s)
My ethernet used to work and then just didn't one day it didnt. I ran the tool but it didnt tell me where to send my support file

Wim 10-03-2012 02:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jbrown70 (Post 7943)
My ethernet used to work and then just didn't one day it didnt. I ran the tool but it didnt tell me where to send my support file

Again, the PC thinks that the Ethernet cable is disconnected from the dock. Are the LEDs on, on the dock, to show an Ethernet link? Does it recover if you power cycle the dock and reboot the PC? Does the switch on the other end of the Ethernet cable think there is a link?

Wim


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.