DisplayLink Forum

DisplayLink Forum (https://displaylink.org/forum/index.php)
-   Mac Software (https://displaylink.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=30)
-   -   Macbook Pro M1 Dual Monitors ? (https://displaylink.org/forum/showthread.php?t=67532)

Lance 06-14-2021 04:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mlrichardson (Post 91360)
So I have seen multiple threads with regards to supporting multiple monitors. None are quite like the set up I have and I just cannot seem to get my MacBook Pro M1 chip to display multiple monitors at the same time. Here is my set up.
Macbook Pro 13 in M1
16GB Memory
Two LG Monitors - LG UltraFine 5K Display 27MD5KL
Targus Docking Station with Display Link - DOCK570USZ
Display Link Manager 1.2
USB-C to Displayport adapters (2)
Think i have tried just about everything but cannot get both displays or for that matter just 1 display working thru the docking station, monitor does work by going directly to thunderbolt on Mac. I know the mac is recognizing the docking station as I can see in hardware profile and I can connect a usb bluetooth keyboard to docking station and works fine. Just cannot detect the monitors thru the docking station.
Thanks in advance
Lee

Hi All - MacBook Air M1 showing both screens but both duplicating. Displaylink says - No monitor detected.

the frustrated drake 06-14-2021 05:34 PM

Hi everybody,

same problem here. MacBook Pro 13'' (MacOS 11.4) with M1, and I need a 2nd external monitor.

i-tec docking station: https://i-tec.pro/de/produkt/tb3hdmidockx-3/

i-tec adapter: https://i-tec.pro/de/produkt/tb3dual4khdmi-3/

software: DL Manager 1.4.0 Build 57.120

monitors:
older LG 31,5''
brand new Samsung 32'' L32AM504NUXEN

I've tried EVERY single combination of connecting monitors. Either one or the other monitor will work, both together don't!

I used to love Mac, but I am so fu***** frustrated I'm about to throw that MBP out of the window! :mad:

AlbanRampon 06-15-2021 12:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by the frustrated drake (Post 92092)
Hi everybody,

same problem here. MacBook Pro 13'' (MacOS 11.4) with M1, and I need a 2nd external monitor.

i-tec docking station: https://i-tec.pro/de/produkt/tb3hdmidockx-3/

i-tec adapter: https://i-tec.pro/de/produkt/tb3dual4khdmi-3/

software: DL Manager 1.4.0 Build 57.120

monitors:
older LG 31,5''
brand new Samsung 32'' L32AM504NUXEN

I've tried EVERY single combination of connecting monitors. Either one or the other monitor will work, both together don't!

I used to love Mac, but I am so fu***** frustrated I'm about to throw that MBP out of the window! :mad:

Hello,

You can remove the DisplayLink Manager application. It requires hardware with DisplayLink chips to work.
You will see that the app will say there are no monitors detected because the two products you mention are Thunderbolt (it says "Dockingstation-Technologie: Thunderbolt™3"), and not using DisplayLink technology.
To use DisplayLink Manager, you would need a product with DisplayLink technology. Here is an example from that manufacturer: https://i-tec.pro/de/produkt/cadual4kdockpd-3/ it states "Dockingstation-Technologie: DisplayLink + USB-C PD".

Regards,
Alban

the frustrated drake 06-15-2021 08:12 AM

Alban, thanks for that quick reply. I ordered that one right away, hope it works.

I'm still mad at Apple... :mad:

rboerner 06-15-2021 12:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lance (Post 92090)
Hi All - MacBook Air M1 showing both screens but both duplicating. Displaylink says - No monitor detected.

Please do not double post the same question.

I have replied to your other post --> https://www.displaylink.org/forum/sh...ad.php?t=67731 and moved it to the Mac section of the forum.

volleronline 06-15-2021 02:54 PM

Dell WD19 Dock + Dual Dell 24 Inch Monitors
 
My laptop: Mackbook Pro M1 - 13 inch

Docking Station: Dell WD19

Monitors: Dell 24 Inch - S2421HS

My external monitors show the same mirrored display. It's extended but both displays show the same picture.

Laptop is open and display on laptop is fine.

One monitor is plugged into DisplayPort port.

One monitor is plugged into the back port next to the HDMI port (so, is that the thunderbolt port?) -- It is plugged into a secondary portable USB-C dock and from there connected to HDMI.

Am I plugging into the correct port? Do I need a cable that goes direct from thunderbolt/usb-c to HDMI?

Would really love to make use of both of these lovely monitors!

Thanks!

ScreamCZE 06-15-2021 03:22 PM

Hello,

Dell WD19 is also not based on DisplayLink technology. It is based on native USB-C - macOS does not support MST technology and both monitors will always show the same picture on the external monitors.

volleronline 06-22-2021 03:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ScreamCZE (Post 92101)
Hello,

Dell WD19 is also not based on DisplayLink technology. It is based on native USB-C - macOS does not support MST technology and both monitors will always show the same picture on the external monitors.

Would the Dell D6000 work for Macbook Pro M1?
As it uses DisplayLink software, it seems like that might be a solution for me.

https://www.dell.com/en-us/work/shop...n&sku=452-BCYT

volleronline 06-24-2021 08:28 PM

Mac M1 Dual Monitors -- SOLVED!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by volleronline (Post 92144)
Would the Dell D6000 work for Macbook Pro M1?
As it uses DisplayLink software, it seems like that might be a solution for me.

https://www.dell.com/en-us/work/shop...n&sku=452-BCYT

My boss bought me the Dell D6000 linked to above in the quote, and two (2) DisplayPort cables. With DisplayLink software installed, I now have TWO WORKING EXTERNAL MONITORS on my MacBook Pro M1 13".

Thanks for the leads and the links. Life is now worth living, LOL.

YAAAASSSSSSSS

Ghorelick 08-08-2021 02:56 PM

PLEASE please tell me how you got your set up to work! My specs:

Dell D6000
MB Pro M1 2020 13" 16 GB memory
2 LG 4k Ultrafine (24MD4KL-B) monitors (2 TB3 ports and 3 USB-C output ports)
2 Moshi USB C to DisplayPort Cables bidirectional (Support 5K@60 Hz, 4K HDR)
BigSur 11.5.1
DisplayLink Manager 1.4.0

DisplayLink manager sees all 3 monitors and I can even see the arrangement in System Preferences but the screens are black! but if I only set up 1 monitor via the hub then it works (1980 x 1080).

How do I make both monitors display??:confused:


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.