Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Windows Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-22-2016, 12:27 PM   #1
ememensik
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 9
Default Lenovo ThinkPad USB 3.0 ProDock

Hi,

I bought Your product called "Lenovo ThinkPad USB 3.0 ProDock", I tried to connect one external monitor - DELL U2412M - Monitor was recognized but screen is black (blank) no cursor, no background etc. In graphics settings I see that is one display is already connected, but it is called "No monitor".

When I connect it directly to the laptop via HDMI its working, so this is not a display problem.

How we can find solution for that kind of problem?
ememensik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 01:18 PM   #2
AlbanRampon
Senior Member
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,609
Arrow

Hello!
DisplayLink does not design or manufacture any end product. We are a semiconductor company.
Lenovo designed and manufacture that dock with the help of an ODM.

That said, DisplayLink and myself will be delighted to help!
Would you please have a look in my forum signature and post the zip file created by our customer support tool?
With everything connected as it should be working, the logs will give me the status of the driver and the computer and lead me to the reason for the blank monitors.

Kind regards,
Alban
__________________
Alban Rampon
Senior product manager, universal docking stations and accessories
"DisplayLink is proud to be a Synaptics brand. Our emails have changed to synaptics.com but our commitment to customers remain the same."

Where to download the latest Windows drivers
How to clean up a corrupted installation
How to report issues to DisplayLink for a speedy resolution
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 12:44 PM   #3
ememensik
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 9
Default

Sorry for delay.
Is that is enough for You to find what the problem is?

Below attachment.
https://mega.nz/#!a99TjIQK!cJ1kIJEtp...Xpgfq3sIhPLSEI

I cant upload it directly to forum, there was a some kind of problem with token.
ememensik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 10:51 AM   #4
ememensik
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 9
Default

I want to move it to the top.
ememensik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2016, 08:17 AM   #5
AlbanRampon
Senior Member
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,609
Default

Thank you for the log files.

A monitor is detected on the port, however there is a problem when the monitor tells its identity.
The dock can't read the EDID, so it doesn't know what the monitor is and what it can do. That's why you have a "No Monitor" instead of "DELL U2412M" in Windows.
By default, when the monitor doesn't tell what it is and what it does, the dock will send 1920*1200 @ 154.00 MHz. Your monitor may not support it.

1. I recommend you try to unplug and replug the ***monitor*** from the dock several times to try and force rediscovery. I can't know if the defect comes from the dock or your monitor. Invalid EDIDs are NOT uncommon.
Also, when we can read the EDID, you'll see a file .edid saved in the folder which is the raw data sent from the monitor.

2. Can you check that monitor on another dock/graphics card?
3. Have you tried another monitor on this dock?

Kind regards,
Alban
__________________
Alban Rampon
Senior product manager, universal docking stations and accessories
"DisplayLink is proud to be a Synaptics brand. Our emails have changed to synaptics.com but our commitment to customers remain the same."

Where to download the latest Windows drivers
How to clean up a corrupted installation
How to report issues to DisplayLink for a speedy resolution
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2016, 10:44 AM   #6
ememensik
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks for answer.

1. I tried many times. Nothing.
2. I checked it by HDMI directly to laptop. Its working correctly. Both monitors.
3. I dont have any other monitor in my company. There is only DELL U2412M.

Is it possible to force add monitor type with EDID to windows ? I dont know how we can solve that.
ememensik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 01:13 PM   #7
ememensik
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 9
Default

I want to move it to the top.
ememensik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2016, 10:15 AM   #8
AlbanRampon
Senior Member
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,609
Default

Hello,
As I am not taking the newest post first, each time you add a post, you go back to the end of my personal queue: I take the people who waited more first. However it leaves others the opportunity to see your post.
I was off during the last couple of days.

There is a way to force a resolution for certain monitors.
This is documented in our following KB article:
http://support.displaylink.com/knowl...rticles/757866

2. I did not mean your primary graphics card, but another Lenovo ThinkPad USB 3.0 Pro Dock to check if you need to contact Lenovo for hardware support.
3. Trying another monitor of the same model would also be suitable to tell us if this issue is with all monitors with this EDID or with only one particular unit.

Kind regards,
Alban
__________________
Alban Rampon
Senior product manager, universal docking stations and accessories
"DisplayLink is proud to be a Synaptics brand. Our emails have changed to synaptics.com but our commitment to customers remain the same."

Where to download the latest Windows drivers
How to clean up a corrupted installation
How to report issues to DisplayLink for a speedy resolution
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 06:23 AM   #9
ememensik
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 9
Default

There is no files connected with monitors.

There is just:
  • DisplayLinkManager.log
  • DisplayLinkUI.log
  • DisplayLinkUIAddOnApi.log
  • DisplayLinkUserAgent.log
  • FirmwareTrace.log
  • FirmwareTrace.old.log
  • MsiExec.log

2. I talked with Lenovo support, before I bought dock station. They recommended this one.

3. I tried both my DELL monitors. Exactly the same problem.
ememensik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2016, 01:20 PM   #10
AlbanRampon
Senior Member
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,609
Default

2. This is not what I suggested. Isolating the issue to see where the issue lies needs to only vary 1 parameter at a time.
If we change everything at the same time and it works, it doesn't tell us what was wrong. If we vary one parameter at a time, it will tell us something.

3. We don't get any monitor plugged in event. It could be that the hotplug detection circuitry in that dock is defective. I think at this stage the best would be to contact the manufacturer and ask for a replacement. You can indicate that DisplayLink told you the monitor is not seen by the dock. To speed things up, you can give them a link to this post.
Just one last thing to try would be to change the cable between your monitor and dock, as this is the only thing I believe we haven't checked.
__________________
Alban Rampon
Senior product manager, universal docking stations and accessories
"DisplayLink is proud to be a Synaptics brand. Our emails have changed to synaptics.com but our commitment to customers remain the same."

Where to download the latest Windows drivers
How to clean up a corrupted installation
How to report issues to DisplayLink for a speedy resolution
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lenovo, prodock, thinkpad dock

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.