Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Windows Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-16-2016, 01:20 PM   #1
chrizzleee
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1
Unhappy No Sound via HDMI

Hey,

I recently got the problem that i don't get any sound on my tv via hdmi with my display link docking station. i only get sound when i plug in my speakers in the docking station.
before the problem, i disconnected my speakers and display link automatically switched to the hdmi output. now when i do that, it tells me that there is nothing connected to the usb audio output.

I have a Acer Laptop with a Intel Core i7, NVIDIA Geforce GTX 950M, USB 3.0 and I'm running Windows 10.

I installed the newest Driver (Display Link 7.9 M5) and I also tried to Reinstall it with the DisplayLinkCleaner.

Thank you for your help!
chrizzleee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 03:14 PM   #2
JamesH
Senior Member
 
JamesH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,504
Default

Hi,

Could you reproduce this issue and then attach the logs from this tool?
http://support.displaylink.com/knowl...rticles/533818

Thanks,
James
JamesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2016, 12:43 PM   #3
Evening Jazz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1
Default No Sound on TV via HDMI on Dynadock 3.0

Hi chrizzleee,

I was just curious, were you able to resolve your issue with no sound on your TV via HDMI?

I'm having a similar problem whereby I get no sound on my LG TV, which is connected via an HDMI cable to my Dynadock 3.0 docking station. Video is A-OK, but zero sound. Further, HDMI audio doesn't show up in the list of playback devices on Windows.

Thanks mate!
Evening Jazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 04:39 PM   #4
AlbanRampon
DisplayLink Tech Support
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,419
Default

EveningJazz,
Similarly, we would need the tool results to comment on what may or may not occur.
Kind regards,
Alban
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 01:12 AM   #5
whataguywants
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 5
Default No HDMI Audio through Dell D3100

Hi I am having a similar problem. I am trying to connect my JMB TV to my Dell Inspiron 7559 through the D3100 docking station. I have a picture but no audio. There is no HDMI option in the Windows 10 sound device manager. When I connect the TV directly into the laptop I have no problem with audio.

I have run the windows displaylin support tool and attach the log.
Attached Files
File Type: zip DAVID-INSPIRON_20160831_014847.zip (1.26 MB, 1 views)
whataguywants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 01:57 PM   #6
AlbanRampon
DisplayLink Tech Support
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,419
Default

Hi WhatGuyWants,

The audio output on the Dell D3100 is called "Dell USB Audio".
I can see it is present in Device Manager, could you paste a screenshot of your playback setting window?
http://support.displaylink.com/knowl...rticles/544858

Kind regards,
Alban
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 03:25 PM   #7
whataguywants
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 5
Default

Hi Alban,

The screenshot I have posted is of my playback devices with my Sony AV Receiver DH-520 plugged directly into the HDMI port of my laptop. As you can see the Sony AVAMP audio is present. The problem is when I plug the Sony directly into the D3100 the Sony AVAMP disappears.

I have also attached another log which I produced with the Sony device plugged directly into my laptop.

Thanks & Regards
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2016-08-31 (3).jpg (10.9 KB, 3 views)
Attached Files
File Type: zip DAVID-INSPIRON_20160831_161929.zip (2.46 MB, 0 views)
whataguywants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 04:09 PM   #8
AlbanRampon
DisplayLink Tech Support
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,419
Default

Hey David,

It's normal you don't see the Sony anymore: it's not connected to your computer but to the dock. You've added an intermediary device.
The Dell D3100 will route the audio to the DisplayPort, HDMI 0, HDMI 1, back jack or front audio jack depending on what is connected. It doesn't create 5 outputs though as the list would be overwhelming for the standard office user, and because Dell has assigned output priorities: plugging something at the front will disable other outputs (= headphone privacy).

Could you please paste the playback settings screenshot when everything is connected as you wish it to work?
Also, can you tell what is connected on which plugs on the Dell D3100.

Kind regards,
Alban
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 09:33 PM   #9
whataguywants
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 5
Default

Hi Alban,

I have set up the D3100 how I would like it and pasted the playback settings. I have the Sony AV Receiver in HDMI 0, a iiyama monitor in HDMI 1, nothing in the DisplayPort, pc stereo speakers in the back jack. I also have a Logitech camera and a Logitech unifying dongle in the two rear USB 2.0 plugs and an internet connection to the LAN port. I have nothing in the front plugs.

I use the iiyama as my main monitor and I assumed that I could route the audio to the Sony amp to watch movies on my TV simplyu by selecting it in the playback settings as my default device. Is this not possible?

Thanks & regards.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot 2016-08-31 22.10.16.jpg (10.8 KB, 7 views)
whataguywants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 10:43 AM   #10
AlbanRampon
DisplayLink Tech Support
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,419
Default

Hi David,

You have selected the Dell USB Audio as default output, that's how to do this.

The Dell D3100 routes the sound to multiple outputs simultaneously so, unlike the dedicated graphics card sound adapter, it won't take the name of your amplifier as it can't take multiple names. It would be a bit overwhelming to get 5 new audio devices (2 HDMI, 1 DP, 2 jacks) just for the dock anyway...

If you don't get any sound on the Sony receiver, can you try removing the jack to see if that enables it?
I'm not sure how Dell implemented the audio on their dock.

Kind regards,
Alban
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hdmi, laptop, sound, windows10

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.