Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > Alpha, Beta Software Testing Programs > Closed Alpha and Beta Programs

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-27-2011, 05:37 PM   #1
Gilles1945
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Default Google earth not shown on TV??

When I load Google earth on my TV I see the earth on computer but not on TV. but I'm able to see the text from menue of Goofle Earth.

I included the debug file
Attached Files
File Type: txt System_Details.txt (1.1 KB, 574 views)
Gilles1945 is offline  
Old 03-30-2011, 10:34 AM   #2
Wim
Senior Member
 
Wim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,528
Default

This is due to the hardware acceleration that Google Earth requires, that is not available under XP with DisplayLink.

If you change Google Earth to use OpenGL, rather than Direct3D (in the menu options for Google Earth), it should make google earth work on XP.

Wim
Wim is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 04:41 PM   #3
Gilles1945
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Hi Wim,
Thanks for the hint I've try that and it didn't workout. I have a Intel core duo processor T2250 with 4 MB ram and running Windows XP Pro SP3.
Also I found out to day that another site that it does not work is hXXp://www.ustream.tv/decoraheagles but it work in small picture can't have full screen. When it does it I run the mouse it is like an eraser it erase the picture under shows.

Would appreciate your help again.
Gilles1945 is offline  
Old 04-13-2011, 12:53 PM   #4
Wim
Senior Member
 
Wim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,528
Default

Yes - again both issues are due to the applications expecting hardware acceleration that is not available on DisplayLink screens under XP.

You will need to be in extend mode to make these apps work. The Windows mirror driver has no HW acceleration at all. In extend our driver will correctly report to the app what HW acceleration is supported. Its then up to the app to make sure it adapts to only use the HW acceleration level available.

If you use extend mode and make sure that when the app launches, it starts on the DisplayLink display, the app may then correctly work if it falls back to not using hardware acceleration.

Wim
Wim is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.