Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Linux and Open Source

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2019, 07:06 AM   #11
ESSEDIA
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
Thumbs up

Here you can find possible solution:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php...ocking_station

This works for me, try it!
Good luck!

Last edited by ESSEDIA; 05-08-2019 at 02:12 PM.
ESSEDIA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 08:59 AM   #12
rick_pri
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 4
Default Black screen

I'm using 19.04 via Pop!_OS. There does seem to be an issue with this but, during boot up press the F2 key and you'll see that it gets stuck on a startup task, if you leave it for about 5 mins you'll eventually see that it kind of hangs, at this point press CTRL + ALT + F2 and then CTRL + ALT + F1 and the Gnome GDM will load just fine.
rick_pri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 09:11 AM   #13
rick_pri
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 4
Default Crashing of DisplayLink Driver when heavily using the network if

I'm finding that when duplicity kicks in in the mornings (backup is sent to network attached storage) that my screens freeze and the network connection dies.

I'm using a Startech.com DK30A2DH with dual 4K monitors and a couple of USB devices (keyboard, mouse headphones) but you'll be able to see all of this from the attached Support Tool log output attached to this post.
Attached Files
File Type: zip DLSupportTool_Output_2019-05-22T09:51:15.842038.zip (2.46 MB, 0 views)
rick_pri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 09:27 AM   #14
EJB
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2
Default

Thank you, @ESSEDIA, for your pointer. I tried many things from that site, and other stuff inspired by that site. Nothing worked.

I decided to do a clean 19.04 install on my Dell G5 5587, with D3100 docking station. The first thing I did, after the clean install was done, was to install the DisplayLink driver v5.1.26. And, guess what, it now works like a charm.
EJB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 01:00 PM   #15
retrodaredevil
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 9
Default

A while ago I got display link to install, and it works perfectly for the most part, except that one of my monitors is unusable. I'm running Kubuntu and my AOC monitor looks like this:

https://i.imgur.com/gyJIcQ5
retrodaredevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 08:27 PM   #16
adin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 8
Default

I can confirm that using DisplayLink driver v5.1.26 works (almost), on Ubuntu 19.04 (kernel 5.0.0-16-generic).

I can get two monitors to work with display port additionally to the laptop.

However, I'm experiencing random system freezes. Randomly, the whole system just stops, I can't see if there is any relation with what I'm doing. The only way to get the system back is a hard shutdown.

Any ideas on how to diagnose this?
adin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 09:29 AM   #17
rick_pri
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adin View Post
I can confirm that using DisplayLink driver v5.1.26 works (almost), on Ubuntu 19.04 (kernel 5.0.0-16-generic).

I can get two monitors to work with display port additionally to the laptop.

However, I'm experiencing random system freezes. Randomly, the whole system just stops, I can't see if there is any relation with what I'm doing. The only way to get the system back is a hard shutdown.

Any ideas on how to diagnose this?
For me, I would see the DisplayLink connected screens freeze and then I would unplug via usb and plug back in again, and then I'd have to run an alias which I've created from ARandR to fix my screen layout.

What I've found is that this always happend earlier in the day and it was happening when the network was very busy (backups being uploaded to the NAS). Since I've switched to plugging in the network cable directly into my machine that has resolved this issue for me. I don't particularly use the USB ports on my device, but I suspect heavy USB port usage could also have a similar impact.

Last edited by rick_pri; 06-06-2019 at 09:30 AM. Reason: Slight addition for clarity
rick_pri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 12:50 PM   #18
adin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 8
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by rick_pri View Post
For me, I would see the DisplayLink connected screens freeze and then I would unplug via usb and plug back in again, and then I'd have to run an alias which I've created from ARandR to fix my screen layout.

What I've found is that this always happend earlier in the day and it was happening when the network was very busy (backups being uploaded to the NAS). Since I've switched to plugging in the network cable directly into my machine that has resolved this issue for me. I don't particularly use the USB ports on my device, but I suspect heavy USB port usage could also have a similar impact.
In my case, when the screen freezes there is no coming back but a hard shutdown. Unplugging the dock doesn't do anything. The laptop's screen is still frozen, and there is no way to see if the inputs are coming through. I checked the logs, but I can't identify anything related to the displaylink since I don't know what to look for.
adin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:39 AM   #19
rick_pri
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adin View Post
In my case, when the screen freezes there is no coming back but a hard shutdown. Unplugging the dock doesn't do anything. The laptop's screen is still frozen, and there is no way to see if the inputs are coming through. I checked the logs, but I can't identify anything related to the displaylink since I don't know what to look for.
Can you
Code:
Alt+F2
then type 'r' and hit enter? You can't see it but this will refresh GDM for you (That's if you're using that desktop manager)
If that does nothing can you
Code:
Ctrl+F2
into a console? Then you might be able reload your display manager (although this will kill your current session) so I think that you can reload the DisplayLink service itself first with something like
Code:
sudo service displaylink-driver restart
.

I've found that sometimes the display manager would have issues with not displaying onto my internal screen (it would still act as if the display was disabled - as I used to have my laptop lid closed whilst using the other monitors.) There may be something in the
Code:
/var/log/syslog
.
rick_pri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ubuntu 19.04

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.