Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Mac Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-09-2018, 04:09 PM   #251
Gastronaught
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 3
Default Does not support all WiFi environments

To fix the below I connected to a different wireless network. the corporate WiFi has 802.1x authentication and I think this breaks airplay for display link - Oddly I have no issues Using reflector 3 to airplay to my mac over the same network.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gastronaught View Post
I followed the instructions to enable the airplay display, got it to work extending to the displayLink airplay display. I then unplugged it and now cannot get airplay to reactivate when it is reconnected. I have tried rebooting, unplugging, replugging, modifying settings etc. all to no avail.

This is the article I followed to enable the DisplayLink Airplay functionality:
https://support.displaylink.com/know...ticles/1854724

However I only ever see DisplayLinkStop now even when Airplay has not been activated and never just DisplayLink:



I have poked around in settings, carried out many reboots and tried changing when the DisplayLink device is connected nothing works.
Gastronaught is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2018, 04:17 PM   #252
aehsmu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 10
Default 10.13.5 Beta - 4.3 beta WORKS!

The "how to" instructions for 10.13.4 beta 3 DOES work for 10.13.5.

Thanks!

At least I'm back to semi-normal.

Fascinating work-around.
--
Eric H.
--
aehsmu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2018, 07:36 PM   #253
russjr08
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 3
Default

This new workaround works, thanks!
russjr08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 05:05 AM   #254
Amarriner
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wozzy View Post
Did you follow the guide

https://support.displaylink.com/know...ticles/1854724


What use to be plug and play is now jump through hoops, not very user friendly. 1080p looks hideous on my 25" screen. Its progress DL but you have a way to go yet to get this fixed.
Thanks you,

I did follow the instructions, Airplay doens't show in the menu bar, so went through "system preferences" connected to the Displaylink.
-Shows three monitors available for a few seconds, I can then only access the main one
then disconnects itself and I go back to clone.

Any suggestions?
Amarriner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 12:20 PM   #255
slvrscoobie
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 39
Default

i get clone mode, but my Clamshell'ed macbook with a displayport monitor and displaylink monitor only shows my appleTV as an airplay device. I dont get any security request or accessibility option in S&P either.
thoughts?

Hey! apparently Unplugging the displaylink was all it needed. as soon as I did, it popped up the displaylink agent, and then a few click, and boom, extended screen
Im back baby! only 3 months later!

Last edited by slvrscoobie; 05-10-2018 at 12:40 PM.
slvrscoobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 01:17 PM   #256
Khashoggi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slvrscoobie View Post
i get clone mode, but my Clamshell'ed macbook with a displayport monitor and displaylink monitor only shows my appleTV as an airplay device. I dont get any security request or accessibility option in S&P either.
thoughts?

Hey! apparently Unplugging the displaylink was all it needed. as soon as I did, it popped up the displaylink agent, and then a few click, and boom, extended screen
Im back baby! only 3 months later!
OK! That solved my problem as well to get it to finally pop-up as a choice. Unplug and re-plug the display link adaptor.
Khashoggi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 05:13 PM   #257
Alanant
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 31
Default

Just reporting that 10.13.5 Beta 4 does not restore original functionality. Workaround is effective though.
Alanant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 06:59 PM   #258
Wozzy
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alanant View Post
Just reporting that 10.13.5 Beta 4 does not restore original functionality. Workaround is effective though.
It won't. Apple purposely closed off the way DL was working as it was considered a security risk that could also be exploited in a negative way so they are not going to roll back the change.
Wozzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 07:15 PM   #259
Wozzy
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khashoggi View Post
OK! That solved my problem as well to get it to finally pop-up as a choice. Unplug and re-plug the display link adaptor.
It does say that in the enablement instructions

https://support.displaylink.com/know...ticles/1854724

Quote:
Go to the Security & Privacy settings -> Privacy and then unplug your DisplayLink enabled device.
Wozzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 02:55 AM   #260
Poly
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wozzy View Post
It won't. Apple purposely closed off the way DL was working as it was considered a security risk that could also be exploited in a negative way so they are not going to roll back the change.
That's interesting. Can you please elaborate further or provide a source?
__________________
MacBook 12-inch (Early 2016) MacBook Pro 15-inch (2018) HP Elite USB-C-Docking Station G2 (X7W54AA) HP 3005PR Dell Adapter USB-C HDMI/VGA/Ethernet (470-ABQN)
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.