Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Windows Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2018, 04:29 AM   #1
TheWarriorPoet
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2
Default Overwatch not accessing dGPU when Displaylink Hub plugged in

Hey Guys,

Hope you're well! I recently purchased a Surface Book 2 15 inch, which has an Intel HD 620 plus an Nvidia 1060 graphics card. To drive my monitors and setup at home, I also purchased a Dell D6000 Universal Dock.

When I'm running the Book by itself, everything works beautifully. Overwatch is one of the main games I play when I'm not working, and runs extremely well.

However, when I plug in the Hub, frame rates drop down to 5fps. What appears to be happening is it's trying to run Overwatch off the Intel HD 620 instead of the Nvidia 1060 card (I'm using device manager to monitor which card's in use).

I've used NVidia's control panel to set both Overwatch Launcher and the game itself to use the Nvidia card, to no effect.

Heroes of the Storm, another Blizzard title, correctly uses the NVidia GPU.

I've also played another graphics heavy game, Wolfenstein 2, and observed the NVidia card correctly being used to run this game.

I attempted to disable the 620, however the Surface appears dependent on it even when docked with the base unit. I wasn't able to test whether it works properly.

Additionally, I've noticed when watching video, it'll often show fragmented exactly halfway down the screen when the image changes quickly. I'm using 60HZ monitor and happens regardless of 30fps or 60fps Twitch streaming. When I boost the download stream to 1080p, it also lags every few seconds, despite having a full buffer, the video displays without the lagat 720p60.

Thankyou in advance for your assistance.

Warmest regards,

Andrew
TheWarriorPoet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2018, 03:04 AM   #2
TheWarriorPoet
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2
Default

Any ideas or suggestions? Would really like to be able to use my large screen to play Overwatch on.
TheWarriorPoet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 02:20 PM   #3
Wynnstan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 1
Default

I have a Toshiba Dynadock with DisplayLink outputs that I was trying to use as a regular USB hub. I have a 1060 gaming laptop, and I drive an external monitor from the laptop's MiniDP port. Without the hub I can play Overwatch just fine at 144+ fps, but when I connect the Dynadock my graphics performance is suddenly severely limited (~9 fps on High, ~40 fps on lowest possible settings). The best way that I could solve it was to go to Device Manager -> Display adapters and uninstall the TOSHIBA Video Dock (whatever you have will be different). However, this is only a temporary fix as the driver is reinstalled whenever the computer is turned on again.
Wynnstan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 02:10 PM   #4
James C
DisplayLink Tech Support
 
James C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 12
Default

Hi TheWarriorPoet,

While DisplayLink technology is targeted primarily to productivity and video applications, it is suitable for the casual gamer. However, DisplayLink will always prefer the integrated Intel GPU to do its compute functions if available. If you're a looking a premium gaming experience, you might want to go another route.

Can you confirm if you are running the game on the Integrated laptop screen or on one driven by DisplayLink? And also is it run in Full screen mode?

Please follow the third link in my signature and reply with Windows Support Log Files (.zip). These files will allow me to analyse your issue.

Kind regards,
James C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 05:06 PM   #5
RickDe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 5
Default

James i'm having a similar issue. I cannot get any program or anything to use the nvidia GPU when using display link.

You said that Displaylink prefers to run on the intel CPU. Nvidia driver allows one to select which applications run on either the Intel GPU or the Nvidia.

Is there a way to get displaylink to work with the Nvidia settings or make it always on the Nvidia GPU.

Thanks,

-Rick
RickDe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 07:52 PM   #6
RickDe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 5
Default Resolved

I was able to resolve my issue by upgrading to the latest version of Windows 10. After looking checking GPU load.

I found that task manager now supports showing GPU% per application. Microsoft added this just recently. I was running 1703 and the latest is now 1803. To check your version hit Windows + I to open up Windows Settings. Then go into System, then about. Version should be there under Windows Specifications.

We have an upgrade server that controls updates, but I was able to bypass that and upgrade to the latest with microsofts update tool found here: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...load/windows10

The update takes a while. After the update I loaded up blender and illustrator and task manager showed them both running on GPU 1 which is the Nvidia. I also noticed that the nvidia Display Icon now shows activity on the card which it did not do before.
RickDe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 12:46 PM   #7
AlbanRampon
DisplayLink Tech Support
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,290
Arrow

Hello,

The GPU selection is from the OS kernel mode driver. Since Windows 10 Anniversary Update, DisplayLink doesn't have a kernel mode driver.
There isn't any application which can change this, whatever the GPU utility claims. Once the OS has booted, it's too late to do the change. Even the new switch in the latest OS cannot change that. This is the case with any indirect display, not specific to DisplayLink.

There is a feature request with Microsoft to use the best GPU instead of using the POST GPU, which is almost always the Intel graphics, or at least allow us to suggest GPU affinity.
https://support.displaylink.com/foru...tions/15869604
It wouldn't be appropriate for us to comment on someone else feature delivery date though.

The only solution today is to switch off the low end GPU completely, provided your platform allows that, so the POST graphics card is the high end one.

You reporting this as being an issue for you via the Windows 10 Feedback Hub is the way to make sure it is prioritised earlier rather than later.

Kind regards,
Alban
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.