Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Windows Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-22-2012, 08:01 AM   #1
benski
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Default Gigabit Ethernet not working on Targus USB 3.0 Docking Station

Hi I have just bought the Targus USB 3.0 Docking Station and have installed the displaylink update DisplayLink-6.3M0 file and I can't get the gigabit ethernet port to work. The cable is fine as I can connect it into the back of my laptop (Dell XPS14z) and it detects the network immediately. When I plug the cable (CAT 6) into the back of the docking station it disaplys in the network dialogue that the cable is unplugged. I have tried this with different cables just to make sure it wan't a cable issue and I get the same issue that it is not detecting the cable. When I plug the cable into the port I see that the green light next to port lights up and remains on so I assume it is detecting cable. I am thinkiong it is a driver issue which is resulting in a failure to replicate this port to the laptop through USB 3.0. Any help would be appreciated

Thanks
benski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 12:49 PM   #2
Wim
Senior Member
 
Wim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,561
Default

Can you run the debug tool and post the output so we can see the state of the USB Ethernet?

http://kb.displaylink.com/269

Thanks

Wim
Wim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 12:34 AM   #3
benski
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Default Fixed

Hi Wim

Thanks for your work here. I read one of your other posts and uninstalled displaylink software and reinstalled it and then ran update and installed updated software. It worked and I now have ethernet.

Thanks

Ben
benski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 02:17 PM   #4
LandArch25
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wim View Post
Can you run the debug tool and post the output so we can see the state of the USB Ethernet?

http://kb.displaylink.com/269

Thanks

Wim
Wim,

I'm having the same issue, but I updated everything and reinstalled the displaylink drivers with no results. Attached is my support zip file.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I feel like I've tried everything.
Attached Files
File Type: zip MATT_LAPTOP_20120812_095221.zip (1.11 MB, 4 views)
LandArch25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 11:47 AM   #5
Wim
Senior Member
 
Wim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,561
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LandArch25 View Post
Wim,

I'm having the same issue, but I updated everything and reinstalled the displaylink drivers with no results. Attached is my support zip file.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I feel like I've tried everything.
Your logs seem to show that the Ethernet cable is not plugged in:

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : DisplayLink USB Gigabit Network Adapter #4
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-9B-03-3C-90
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Either the Ethernet cable doesn't work, or there is a hardware fault. I assume the LEDs on the RJ45 are not on either, so its not showing a physical link.

Don't think I can debug this any further, as I don't think its a driver issue (unless the hardware does think there is a link)

Wim
Wim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 05:33 PM   #6
Brandan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Default

I've had the same problem with Targus (what a POS) on my new Dell Ultra Slim laptop. After trying different drivers, trying different ports, plugging and unplugging i gave up and bought a USB 3.0 gigabit adapter and now don't care about the one built into the port replicator. That thing is just buggy despite what the manufacturer claims (read Amazon reviews if you want)

If you want to get done with this quickly - just do what i did and get yourself a USB gig adapter (i got mine here http://www.usb3gigabit.com/)

A quick update - this is not a problem with display link in any way, there is something wrong with the targus hardware
Brandan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 10:44 AM   #7
Wim
Senior Member
 
Wim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,561
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandan View Post
I've had the same problem with Targus (what a POS) on my new Dell Ultra Slim laptop. After trying different drivers, trying different ports, plugging and unplugging i gave up and bought a USB 3.0 gigabit adapter and now don't care about the one built into the port replicator. That thing is just buggy despite what the manufacturer claims (read Amazon reviews if you want)

If you want to get done with this quickly - just do what i did and get yourself a USB gig adapter (i got mine here http://www.usb3gigabit.com/)

A quick update - this is not a problem with display link in any way, there is something wrong with the targus hardware
Can you tell me which Targus docking station you have (ACP70 or ACP71)?

Thanks

Wim
Wim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 09:11 PM   #8
jmtechguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Default Connected to network, but can't browse web pages

When I unplug the network cable from the back of the dock and use the wireless connection, I have no issues with browsing network directories/files or browsing websites through IE. With the network cable plugged in and the wireless disconnected, I can still browse to shared files/directories on the network but when browsing websites, some won't connect and most don't load in any readable format. It looks like the Targus Gigabit Ethernet driver is installed and working fine, just having issues browsing websites.

Attached is the debug report that was run while the network cable was plugged in and the wireless was disconnected.
Attached Files
File Type: zip HICKS-PC_20121112_163601.zip (661.9 KB, 2 views)
jmtechguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 10:36 PM   #9
Spakly
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Default

Hi guys,

I had this and tried reinstalling the drivers etc with no luck. In the ethernet settings there was no MAC address. I manually added one and it worked.

This is for a corporate Win 7 x64 image, the Dell OEM worked. There was a driver not included in the Dell service tag downloads which was on the link:

http://www.displaylink.com/support/ticket.php?id=315

(Intel USB 3.0 for Dell Latitude XPS)

This seemed to fix the problem. Dell needs to add this to their download page!

Last edited by Spakly; 11-15-2012 at 11:59 PM.
Spakly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 10:51 AM   #10
Wim
Senior Member
 
Wim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,561
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spakly View Post
I had this and tried reinstalling the drivers etc with no luck. In the ethernet settings there was no MAC address. I manually added one and it worked.
How did you know there was no MAC address and where did you set it? Our Ethernet controller should always have a MAC address...

Wim
Wim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gigabit ethernet, targus, usb 3.0

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.