Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Mac Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-25-2018, 03:05 PM   #201
slvrscoobie
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 39
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlbanRampon View Post
Dear DisplayLink macOS users,

As we previously advised, we are aware that installing macOS version 10.13.4 will cause DisplayLink connected displays to go blank after the OS update, with the latest DisplayLink driver release 4.1 installed.

Extended displays continue to work as expected in macOS 10.13.3 - this is why we recommend remaining on macOS 10.13.3 or earlier at this time. Functionality such as Ethernet and audio, where implemented, is unaffected on macOS update.

DisplayLink has committed significant resources to finding a way to restore extended mode display support in a future release of macOS.
We have made solid progress towards identifying a solution, however our team needs to complete more work before we can communicate a release plan for a driver that will restore extended mode displays.

In the meantime, DisplayLink driver 4.3 Beta 2 enables clone mode, but not extended mode, displays in 10.13.4. Users who have already updated to 10.13.4 should install that driver.

We will update you on this thread as soon as we have further details to share.
Thank you for your continued patience and we appreciate your feedback and support.

Kind regards,
Alban
Hi Alban,
Thanks for the update.
I think MANY of us would be willing to work with DL as even Alpha testers if it helps you know more about what works, what doesn't, and what needs to be addressed as you work out a solution. Many hands make light work.
slvrscoobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 04:11 PM   #202
pattie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pasaporte View Post
Hello,

I can confirm that:

- After removing the beta drivers and reboot
- Download Apple Security update 2018-001
- Install DisplayLink 4.1 Drivers (not beta ones)
- Reboot

Thats was working for me.
Was it working in extended mode?

I appreciate DisplayLink is working on this! Unfortunately I did not realize there was an issue until I had applied Apple's update, and I don't see an easy way to revert the update without wiping the data from my computer (which is a non-starter).
pattie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 05:38 PM   #203
smp999
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pasaporte View Post
Hello,

I can confirm that:

- After removing the beta drivers and reboot
- Download Apple Security update 2018-001
- Install DisplayLink 4.1 Drivers (not beta ones)
- Reboot

Thats was working for me.
Did not work for me.

FYI - I registered with this forum just to say thanks to DisplayLink for your attention to this matter. I was going to downgrade my MacOS based on the instructions a few pages back, but the communication from DIsplayLink, I think I will wait a bit longer.
smp999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 06:38 PM   #204
pasaporte
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smp999 View Post
Did not work for me.

FYI - I registered with this forum just to say thanks to DisplayLink for your attention to this matter. I was going to downgrade my MacOS based on the instructions a few pages back, but the communication from DIsplayLink, I think I will wait a bit longer.
It work for me just try it with HDMI-HDMI CABLE and yes got extend mode.
pasaporte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 06:43 PM   #205
pasaporte
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlow202 View Post
This did not work for me...
Did you tried with HDMI-HDMI cable. That’s was tested in 2 different laptops and was work.
pasaporte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 11:00 PM   #206
Poly
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlbanRampon View Post

DisplayLink has committed significant resources to finding a way to restore extended mode display support in a future release of macOS.
Thank you for your latest update. Since you wrote "in a future release of macOS", I suppose it will be the 10.13.5 version or a later version?
__________________
MacBook 12-inch (Early 2016) • MacBook Pro 15-inch (2018) • HP Elite USB-C-Docking Station G2 (X7W54AA) • HP 3005PR • Dell Adapter USB-C HDMI/VGA/Ethernet (470-ABQN)
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 08:01 AM   #207
pacmanbneNL
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poly View Post
Thank you for your latest update. Since you wrote "in a future release of macOS", I suppose it will be the 10.13.5 version or a later version?
I am running 10.13.5 V2 Beta (17F45c) and its not fixed there
pacmanbneNL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 11:37 AM   #208
Amarriner
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pasaporte View Post
Hello,

I can confirm that:

- After removing the beta drivers and reboot
- Download Apple Security update 2018-001
- Install DisplayLink 4.1 Drivers (not beta ones)
- Reboot

Thats was working for me.
I tried this and now my second screen is still a clone of my mac screen but showing half the size.
Amarriner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 02:29 PM   #209
J.Cornelius
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 2
Default Running out of Patience

First, let me say that I love Satechi products and have purchased several.

I can not work without two monitors and it now has been several weeks since my monitors stopped working. I had to purchase a couple of dongles to fix the problem but at $69 bucks each, I keep returning them before the return window closes. Enough just fix the problem already!

This is not the first time this has occurred with a MacOS update but hopefully the last. I realize you all are working hard to correct the issue but in the meantime your customers, well at least this one, is running out of patience!

Let's get it done people!
J.Cornelius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 05:32 PM   #210
pasaporte
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amarriner View Post
I tried this and now my second screen is still a clone of my mac screen but showing half the size.
If its cloned you need to remove the beta driver, and this way just work with HDMI-HDMI Cable.

Regards,
pasaporte is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.