Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Mac Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-11-2018, 04:44 PM   #1
dfairles
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1
Default High Sierra Clamshell

How can you enable clamshell mode with Displaylink?
I have 2 monitors attached to my dock, Dell D6000, and with the MacBook closed, it still shows my internal display.
dfairles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2018, 11:17 PM   #2
rboerner
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 25
Default

DisplayLink speaks to this issue here -> http://support.displaylink.com/knowl...de-on-mac-os-x
rboerner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2018, 05:14 PM   #3
dazey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 4
Default

That is strange, it is working for me.

I have two 1920x1080 displays (samsung SMS24A450) connected. One via a Lenovo Thinkpad Basic USB dock and the other connected direct to the mac air on DVI.

4.1 DL driver and 10.13.2

Works fine with the air closed. Perhaps the difference is I only have one USB display, perhaps try connecting up one of your displays native.
dazey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 01:24 AM   #4
slvrscoobie
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dazey View Post
That is strange, it is working for me.

I have two 1920x1080 displays (samsung SMS24A450) connected. One via a Lenovo Thinkpad Basic USB dock and the other connected direct to the mac air on DVI.

4.1 DL driver and 10.13.2

Works fine with the air closed. Perhaps the difference is I only have one USB display, perhaps try connecting up one of your displays native.
I do the same, Dell 27" display on Displayport and USB3 -> DVI for Acer 2nd screen. Works fine in clamshell as long as power is connected. I have a Hedgedock so I can just drop it in.
slvrscoobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 10:26 AM   #5
Carlo
Mac Team
 
Carlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 606
Default

Yes if one display is connected directly it will work. Unfortunately this increases the number of cables to connect/disconnect...

Carlo
Carlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 04:11 PM   #6
slvrscoobie
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlo View Post
Yes if one display is connected directly it will work. Unfortunately this increases the number of cables to connect/disconnect...

Carlo
But this can make it easy..
https://hengedocks.com/
slvrscoobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2018, 06:18 AM   #7
jimson
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 1
Default

ARG! I just got my new Mac laptop and DisplayLink Dock and I discover clamshell mode won't work with it. I'm now wondering if I should find another dock. What makes this worse is MacOS insists on opening new windows on the laptop vs two external monitors, even when launched from the doc on those displays.

Damn, it seemed such a good solution, too.

Last edited by jimson; 02-24-2018 at 06:31 PM.
jimson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.