Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Windows Software

Old 06-18-2013, 04:19 PM   #1
Reynolds.DST

Default Windows 7 x64, NVidia, and Dell M6700

Hello,

This is my first post on this forum so allow me to introduce myself. My name is Rob and I work as a Desktop Support Technician for my company. I've been given the task of researching a display solution for our CEO and have run into a few issues that I was hoping to hear some input from DisplayLink on.

Let me start out by saying that we use the Plugable USB2.0 to DVI converters on all of our Dell E6400 and M4400 laptops for users who require the use of a third monitor and they work very well. Because Dell only makes port replicators and not docking stations for these laptops, our list of options was thin. Our initial solution was the Tritton SEE2Xtreme adapters and they were extremely disappointing, however we are very impressed with the quality and reliability of the DisplayLink enabled Plugable adapters and have had little to no issues so far.

The problem we have run into stems from a request made by our CEO. His requirements are to have a laptop that can do 4x monitors at 2560x1600 resolution. On a desktop this request would be very easy as any video card with 2x DisplayPort 1.2 enabled ports can easily push this to 4x monitors via a HUB or daisy chaining. This would be using either AMD Eyefinity or in our case NVidia's version of the MST technology.

Unfortunately because of his request for a laptop this has become more difficult than expected. Because the M6700 also uses a port replicator we are limited in our options. There is only one true DisplayPort on the laptop (even though there are two on the replicator) and because of this we are only able to get 3x monitors at 2560x1600 on the Dell U3014s.