Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Windows Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2017, 12:33 PM   #1
samikrc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 7
Default Monitors are not always detected after Win 10 upgrade

Hi,

My corp laptop (Win 10) recently got updated to v1607 (Build 14393.1770). I have been using a Targus DisplayLink adapter for a long time (model ACP70US). After the upgrade, I had trouble getting my dual monitors detected. I have tried the usual power cycling etc., but this time the monitors refuse to get detected stubbornly, even though the keyboard and mouse gets detected every time.

I first tried with v8.3-M1, but that didn't work at all. With 8.4-Alpha I have had better luck, mostly by power cycling and praying. I have also seen lot of random things happening, e.g.:
  • Sometimes I see an 'Unknown Device' or something similar showing up along with 'DisplayLink USB Graphics Device' in 'Settings -> Devices -> Connected Devices'.
  • Sometimes everything looks alright, but monitors do not get detected.

I have managed to get the debug logs for a case when monitors did not get detected vs once when it did get detected. Can someone take a look and suggest if there are ways I can improve the situation?

Thanks.
Attached Files
File Type: zip L-ILB-SAMIK_20171112_122754-NoDetection.zip (3.19 MB, 4 views)
File Type: zip L-ILB-SAMIK_20171112_123414-Detection.zip (6.37 MB, 3 views)
samikrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 04:29 AM   #2
samikrc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 7
Default

This is again posing a problem, after working well for a few weeks. Now the video adapter doesn't get detected at all, even with multiple power cycling. Only the keyboard and mouse gets detected.

I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling the driver software (8.4A1) multiple times but that has not helped so far.

BTW, is there still any service that gets installed by DisplayLink? I have checked the services tab but have not noticed anything from DisplayLink.

Thanks.
-Samik
samikrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 04:34 AM   #3
samikrc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 7
Default

Also, does it matter that I have connected two monitors to this device, rather than one monitor?
samikrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 08:48 AM   #4
AlbanRampon
DisplayLink Tech Support
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,290
Arrow

Hello Sami,

Thank you for the details. This is helpful.

Would you please be able to let me know which ITEM# is under the box?
Also, would you know if the temperature in the room has changed when it stopped working? Like getting colder by a few degrees.
Could you try connecting the ACP70 to a USB2.0 only port or using a USB2 cable?

No service is needed on Windows 10 Anniversary Update onwards. That part is now inboxed by Microsoft.

On the NoDetection logs, there is no DisplayLink device connected to the computer.

Kind regards,
Alban
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 04:17 PM   #5
samikrc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 7
Default

Hi Alban,
Thanks for your response.

The item # mentioned under the box is 51.

This was purchased in US, however I am now located in Bangalore, India. For what its worth, it is actually raining here for last couple of days and definitely a few degrees colder (almost 3-4 degC colder).

Regarding connecting to a USB2.0 port: I don't seem to have one in this laptop (lenovo T450). All USB ports are 3.0 (as per this page). I do have some USB2.0 cables, but I am not sure I understand how to use those in this case, since one side of the cable has to go in the SS port of the box, right?

Let me know - and thanks again for your help.

Regards.
samikrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 04:24 PM   #6
samikrc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 7
Default

Interestingly, I have a Lenovo Thinkpad docking station at my office which also uses DisplayPort technology (possibly this one). It is connected to one monitor. When I went to office today and connected that station to the laptop, it got detected fine and worked alright. Now I am back at home, and the Targus box is still showing the same behavior: only keyboard and mouse gets detected.

Not sure what to make out of all this.
samikrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 04:30 PM   #7
AlbanRampon
DisplayLink Tech Support
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,290
Arrow

Hello,

From the data provided, I believe your docking station has an issue in the USB 3.0 hub.
Your keyboard and mouse work because they are USB 2.0 only. If you had a USB 3 product plugged in, it would most likely not work.
The chip from DisplayLink used by Targus in this product can work on either USB 2 or USB 3, provided it works. The issue is before the DisplayLink chip.

The defect is likely to be a tolerance issue. Rebooting it many times only has the effect of getting the hub running because it's getting warmer and back within tolerance accepted by the computer.

Because it's an old product, I doubt the manufacturer will do a replacement under warranty, but you can try.

You can work around the hardware fault by using a standard USB 2.0 cable. I wouldn't advise to heat the box up, even if it's likely to have an influence.
The USB plugs and protocol were conceived to be backward compatible. So it's fine if the additional lines are not connected, it will force the USB 2 mode and, if I'm correct in the diagnosis, you'll see that the displays, audio and ethernet will light up again.

Kind regards,
Alban
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 04:37 PM   #8
AlbanRampon
DisplayLink Tech Support
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,290
Default

I had not seen your latest posts with the Lenovo dock.
Same DisplayLink IC, same driver. That tends to confirm my diagnosis.
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 03:20 AM   #9
samikrc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 7
Default

Hello Alban,

Thanks for your insightful reply - an interesting case here. So just to see if my understanding is right, the temperature tolerance of the USB3.0 hub used in the docking station is at issue here. When using this docking station from cold condition (e.g., when it has not been used for a few hours etc), or when the ambient temperature is cold, it has (or, is having) trouble in getting started since the temperature is not within tolerance. Is this explanation about right?

Couple of questions:
- Of course you say I shouldn't heat up the box, which makes sense. I am thinking of using a room heater instead to increase the ambient temperature, and see if that works. What do you think?
- Why do you think the other (lenovo) docking station works, although it has the same DP IC and driver? Is it because it is more recent one and the temperature tolerance has been relaxed to be usable for a broader range?
- Would you recommend purchasing a new one like the lenovo one to going forward?
- What does the item# signify? Is it like a batch # or something, denoting when this was manufactured?

Thanks again.
samikrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 08:34 AM   #10
AlbanRampon
DisplayLink Tech Support
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,290
Arrow

Yes, the hub is not within specification, so nothing is guaranteed to work, ever. In some ways you have been lucky it took so long to show because it's marginal, but it's always been here since you received it.
I know about this one because it's not the first time I have been approached with this.
Temperature may not be enough, that was a general observation. But from what you reported, it seems that the warmer room would help, or not to pay for extra energy, start on USB 2.0 and when the box is warm, swap the cable. USB 2.0 has lower throughput, but it's not noticeable by most as our driver adapts based on what is available.
This issue was corrected by the manufacturer in subsequent revision or batch. I'm not sure what Item is as we are not involved in the fabrication.
All other units and models are not affected because the USB 3.0 hub in the dock is not faulty. This is not an issue with the tolerance or the specification.

Targus has fixed the problem and I have not seen report since the fix. Therefore, you can choose the brand and model you prefer with the assurance you won't see that again.
For instance, the different charging tips system is quite unique to Targus (charging is not DisplayLink technology). Personally, I would base my choice on what I need from it (features, outputs), form factor, then price and brand.

Kind regards,
Alban
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.