Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Windows Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-22-2015, 03:25 PM   #1
cpgeek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 10
Default can't use 17" apple studio display on displaylink usb adapter

I wasn't paying attention and didn't realize that the forum that I was replying in (windows 10 beta) was closed, and thus, I assume, no longer frequented by displaylink staff. Here is a repost of my message from here (link included for historical information on the issue: http://displaylink.org/forum/showthread.php?t=63936

Quote:
an update to my situation:

I upgraded my graphics card to an amd radeon 7970 by switching to the generic vga driver, removing the old card, inserting the new one, downloading the latest beta version of the graphics driver (15.7.9 beta for windows 10 x64 circa 9/30/2015), ran the displaylink driver cleaner, downloaded displaylink driver 7.9M2.

My Apple 17" LCD still didn't work on the displayport adapter.

as a test, I decided to plug my samsung syncmaster 2443BW into my displayport adapter and found that despite it's native mode of 1920x1200 that it was operating in 1920x1080 which I found to be odd and annoying.

I ran dxdiag and found that the monitor correctly reported the native resolution, but was running at a lower one for some reason and the windows display control panel says that 1920x1080 was the highest resolution possible. The only time i'd seen this display behave this way is when using vga. I looked in the dxdiag log for a second at the output type and sure enough, it said HD15 (despite being connected directly to the displaylink adapter via dvi). I plugged my apple display in, reran dxdiag saving the output, and indeed, output type was listed as hd15. I then looked at the original log I posted here in my original post, and sure enough, dxdiag reports display output is hd15. I'm under the impression my displaylink adapter is attempting (and succeeding) at outputting analog information over the dvi-i cable (resulting in my lowered resolution on the samsung display) but because the apple display is dvi-d, it won't accept such information.

Do you have any idea how I can tell my displaylink adapter to output DVI?

I really wish I had a windows 7 or windows 8 computer to test these findings with to see if dxdiag reports an output type of DVI when working properly under those operating systems with the supplied HP drivers. Sadly I don't have access to one at the moment.

Thank you for your assistance!
Any assistance that you can provide would be appreciated, thanks!

Last edited by cpgeek; 11-18-2015 at 11:20 PM.
cpgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 11:21 PM   #2
cpgeek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 10
Default

It's been a while and I still haven't heard any response so I thought i'd check back.
cpgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2015, 05:33 PM   #3
JamesH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,523
Default

Hi,

I'm checking on this - will get back to you shortly.

Thanks,
James
JamesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 03:54 PM   #4
cpgeek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesH View Post
Hi,

I'm checking on this - will get back to you shortly.

Thanks,
James
Thank you for the update and your help with this.
cpgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2015, 09:01 PM   #5
cpgeek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 10
Default

Hi there. It's been about a month since I last checked in and I figured i'd check back and see if there was any progress on my issue.

Thanks again!
cpgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 11:23 PM   #6
cpgeek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpgeek View Post
Hi there. It's been about a month since I last checked in and I figured i'd check back and see if there was any progress on my issue.

Thanks again!
It's been a week without a reply update, I don't mean to be rude or pushy, nor do I wish to demand a timeline or anything, but I was hoping for some kind of update on the matter.

Thank you for your consideration.
cpgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dvi, hd15, vga, windows10

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.