Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Enabled Products > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-15-2017, 02:25 PM   #1
Gary Nalen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
Default Dell 3100 Dock and Display Link

I have been working with the dell support team and they are not answering the question.

When plugged into the dock:

1. Will I have access to the Intel graphics control panel, When I plug the HDMI Directly into laptop I see the external Monitor. ( All monitors are working, just no info in the intel control panel) See attached picture DisplaylinkE1

2. What is the taskbar supposed to look like all I have in the icon is Dell USB3.0 Dock? See Attached picture DisplaylinkE2

3. In the Device Manager, Where should the dock video be listed? Mine show in the USB section not display adapter. See Attached picture DisplaylinkE3

Thanks for any help
System
Dell M3800
Dell 3100 Dock
Display Link Manager 8.1.848.0
Windows 10 PRO ver 1511 Build 10586.753
Intel Graphics Driver Version 10.18.15.4278
Nvidia Driver Version 10.18.13.5456
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Display Link E2.jpg (25.7 KB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg Display Link E3.jpg (80.7 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Display Link E1.jpg (91.0 KB, 2 views)
Gary Nalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2017, 01:06 AM   #2
AlbanRampon
DisplayLink Tech Support
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 983
Arrow

Hello Gary,

Thank you for the detailed question.

1. Probably not. Intel has not updated their software to take into account USB displays, as far as we know. This would require Intel to update their utility.

2. On your version of Windows 10, what you are seeing is expected. On the following version of Windows 10, the one from July 2016, the Dell dock will show under graphics adapters as a driver architecture change, along with Windows graphics changes, allow us to change device category.

Kind regards,
Alban
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 05:08 AM   #3
Gary Nalen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
Default

Alban ,

Thanks for the information. Would there be any benefit to loading a newer version of windows 10, I am sure my IT guy can sort it out.


Thanks
Gary
Gary Nalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2017, 12:15 PM   #4
AlbanRampon
DisplayLink Tech Support
 
AlbanRampon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 983
Default

Hello Gary,

For 1, this requires an update of the Intel utility. New versions of Windows or DisplayLink driver will not be able to address this.

Kind regards,
Alban
AlbanRampon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.