Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Windows Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-23-2014, 11:51 PM   #1
Bob Cohen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 11
Default Windows 8.1 Touch Cockamamie

I just got my wife a Dell XPS 18 and connected a Dell U2410 monitor via DisplayLink. The XPS 18 serves as the main monitor.

However, when the two units are both on, touching the XPS 18 yields cursor movement on the side monitor. The XPS 18 doesn't do anything.

Is this a known issue? Is there a correction? (I haven't found anything here yet).

Thx,
Bob
Bob Cohen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 02:38 PM   #2
JamesH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,523
Default

Hi,

This could be due to calibration not being setup:
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/w...n-settings-faq

Thanks,
James
JamesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 03:51 PM   #3
Bob Cohen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 11
Default

No go. It won't even let me identify the XPS screen as the touchscreen. It keeps coming back and saying there's no touch capability on that one.

Thx
Bob Cohen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 07:14 PM   #4
JamesH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,523
Default

Hi,

That is odd.

From a look at the Dell support site I've found these:

Can you try this touch panel patch?
http://www.dell.com/support/my-suppo...&categoryId=PA

And also updating to the latest BIOS?
http://www.dell.com/support/my-suppo...&categoryId=BI

From a look at the Dell forum I noticed these related threads:

http://en.community.dell.com/support.../19522305.aspx
http://en.community.dell.com/support.../19567947.aspx
http://en.community.dell.com/support.../19536913.aspx

Thanks,
James
JamesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2014, 12:26 AM   #5
Bob Cohen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 11
Default

I had already applied the updates so that didn't do anything.

I don't think the articles you pointed me to are relevant. The touchscreen works fine when there's no external monitor. It just doesn't handle the multi-monitor configuration.

Thanks anyway,
Bob
Bob Cohen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.