Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Mac Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-31-2021, 09:57 PM   #1
Nystera
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 1
Unhappy Dell D6000 not recognizing usb ports (both A and C) in Monterey

Hi all,

Made a recent purchase to try out the multi display feature with D6000

Multi display works fine on my MacBook Pro 13 M1, but a (very) jarring issue is that the D6000 is unable to recognize any peripherals through all 4 USB-A ports and even USB-C.

It charges fine through them, but Iím unable to use a mouse or a keyboard. I tried connecting a usb adapter onto the free port of my Macbook, and the peripherals work fine. Even tried connecting the usb adapter with the usbC port but it doesnt seem to recognize.

Have tried the following:
- Updating D6000 drivers on my windows pc (port works there so i know is the drivers communicating with mac issue)
- Reinstalling DisplayLink
- Replugging them in all orders (power>usbA>display, power>Displays>usba)
-turning power on and off again

Managed to get it to work once, but taking the cable out and in again replicates this issue and I was unable to get it to work again.

Version used:
-Mac Monterey 12.0.1 (the earliest avail to public i believe)
- DisplayLink 1.5
Nystera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2021, 10:01 PM   #2
adrianl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 1
Default

Hi,

I had a similar issue when I upgraded it to Monterrey but after I allowed it System Extensions in Security & Privacy preferences they disappeared it.

I hope it would be useful for you
Adrian
adrianl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2021, 09:35 PM   #3
pitrisss
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adrianl View Post
Hi,

I had a similar issue when I upgraded it to Monterrey but after I allowed it System Extensions in Security & Privacy preferences they disappeared it.

I hope it would be useful for you
Adrian
Hello, could you please describe step by step what you did to solve this? I don't see any option like that in security and privacy. Thank you
pitrisss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2021, 10:44 AM   #4
ojobson
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pitrisss View Post
Hello, could you please describe step by step what you did to solve this? I don't see any option like that in security and privacy. Thank you


It will be similar to instructions here:

https://support.displaylink.com/know...ing-permission

I also had some issues with ports not working, and I had to do a reset of the SMC.

On an M1 Mac you have to turn it off, disconnect from power and close the lid for 30 seconds.
This kinda worked but I ended up re-installing MacOS via non-destructive install via system restore. Bit of a pain but all working fine now. I guess a Kext didn't get installed properly, perhaps?

Maybe make sure that all peripherals are unplugged if you need to do the reinstall step as I didn't do that when I first upgraded.
ojobson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2021, 04:09 PM   #5
pitrisss
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ojobson View Post
It will be similar to instructions here:

https://support.displaylink.com/know...ing-permission

I also had some issues with ports not working, and I had to do a reset of the SMC.

On an M1 Mac you have to turn it off, disconnect from power and close the lid for 30 seconds.
This kinda worked but I ended up re-installing MacOS via non-destructive install via system restore. Bit of a pain but all working fine now. I guess a Kext didn't get installed properly, perhaps?

Maybe make sure that all peripherals are unplugged if you need to do the reinstall step as I didn't do that when I first upgraded.
AFAIK mac m1 doesn't have SMC.
pitrisss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2021, 08:46 AM   #6
ojobson
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 18
Default

No, it doesn't, you are correct. Apple advised me there is a sort of equivalent to it and as per my post this is reset by:

On an M1 Mac you have to turn it off, disconnect from power and close the lid for 30 seconds.
__________________
2021 M1 MacBook Pro, MacOS 12.01, Displaylink v1.6 (beta)
- USB-C to Dell U3219C
- Dell D6000 Dock (USB-C) with the August dell firmware update... which is connected, rotated to U2414H via Displayport
ojobson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2022, 12:50 AM   #7
thepouya
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nystera View Post
Hi all,

Made a recent purchase to try out the multi display feature with D6000

Multi display works fine on my MacBook Pro 13 M1, but a (very) jarring issue is that the D6000 is unable to recognize any peripherals through all 4 USB-A ports and even USB-C.

It charges fine through them, but Iím unable to use a mouse or a keyboard. I tried connecting a usb adapter onto the free port of my Macbook, and the peripherals work fine. Even tried connecting the usb adapter with the usbC port but it doesnt seem to recognize.

Have tried the following:
- Updating D6000 drivers on my windows pc (port works there so i know is the drivers communicating with mac issue)
- Reinstalling DisplayLink
- Replugging them in all orders (power>usbA>display, power>Displays>usba)
-turning power on and off again

Managed to get it to work once, but taking the cable out and in again replicates this issue and I was unable to get it to work again.

Version used:
-Mac Monterey 12.0.1 (the earliest avail to public i believe)
- DisplayLink 1.5
Did you find a solution to this problem? I am having the same issue. Thanks!
thepouya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:52 PM   #8
keith_smith
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 1
Default

I'm also having this problem and I've noticed the following:
  • The problem seems to manifest after a number of disconnect and reconnect cycles of the USB cable to the computer.
  • I've been able to 'reset' the ports back to working by disconnecting it form the computer, unplugging the power on the D6000, and then leaving it unplugged for a few hours. NB: a short power cycle doesn't do it, but a very long one seems to.

YMMV. Not a fix, but perhaps the workaround will help someone...
keith_smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
d6000, issue, issues, ports, usb

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.