Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Mac Software

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2019, 07:58 AM   #1
pacmanbneNL
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 9
Default [Solved] New MacOS Catalina breaks DisplayLink

I have installed the New Catalina MacOS however it appears to break the current release of DisplayLink

This is more of an FYI for others rather than a cry for help I can live without it until DisplayLink provide an update

Update:
When I say broken I mean I can see the mouse pointer but both external monitors are plank only my laptop screen is visible. Both network and mouse and keyboard all work without issue.

Update2:

I think I have fixed my problem under System Preferences / Security & Privacy / Screen Recording put a tick in the DisplayLinkUserAgent.app

This seem to solve my problem

Last edited by pacmanbneNL; 06-04-2019 at 10:58 AM.
pacmanbneNL is offline  
Old 06-04-2019, 04:27 PM   #2
Shinji14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2
Default

I don't have the DisplayLinkUserAgent in the ScreenRecording tab.
Shinji14 is offline  
Old 06-04-2019, 05:54 PM   #3
Shinji14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2
Default

In terminal :
Code:
cd /Library/PrivilegedHelperTools/DisplayLink/DisplayLinkUserAgent.app/Contents/MacOS
./DisplayLinkUserAgent
This will popup a message that Terminal wants to screenrecord.

Driver tested : 5.1.1
Shinji14 is offline  
Old 06-05-2019, 10:36 AM   #4
masto182
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1
Default

I tried the suggestion, but it didn't work for me. I also onl . installed the display link driver after I upgraded. We moved offices yesterday and we are using display link docks. Anything that might make it work?
masto182 is offline  
Old 06-06-2019, 08:00 AM   #5
Skywalker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 16
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by pacmanbneNL View Post
I have installed the New Catalina MacOS however it appears to break the current release of DisplayLink

Update2:

I think I have fixed my problem under System Preferences / Security & Privacy / Screen Recording put a tick in the DisplayLinkUserAgent.app

This seem to solve my problem
Thnx! This fixed it for me!
Skywalker is offline  
Old 06-07-2019, 02:23 PM   #6
SterlingBourne
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2
Default

For me broken means the monitors don't recognize the MacBook Pro at all; they just go to sleep. I don't have a Screen Recorder option in Settings to enable.

So right now I'm just looking at 2 dead monitors next to my Laptop until a new driver is released that supports Catalina.
SterlingBourne is offline  
Old 06-08-2019, 05:46 AM   #7
pacmanbneNL
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SterlingBourne View Post
For me broken means the monitors don't recognize the MacBook Pro at all; they just go to sleep. I don't have a Screen Recorder option in Settings to enable.

So right now I'm just looking at 2 dead monitors next to my Laptop until a new driver is released that supports Catalina.
I would suggest you look under every option in the Privacy tab under "Security & Privacy" in System Preferences look for DisplayLinkUserAgent.app it appears in two places for me Screen Recording and Accessibility

Also if this was the first time you installed the driver you will need to click allow under the General Tab Its been a while since I read the install notes on the readme but I think that requirement is detailed there
pacmanbneNL is offline  
Old 06-10-2019, 02:38 PM   #8
SterlingBourne
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2
Default

Fixed it.

My issue is I wasn't running v5.1.1. Once I installed the latest version, and enabled Screen Recording, both of my external monitors worked.
SterlingBourne is offline  
Old 06-24-2019, 04:25 PM   #9
iamjono
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by pacmanbneNL View Post
I think I have fixed my problem under System Preferences / Security & Privacy / Screen Recording put a tick in the DisplayLinkUserAgent.app

This seem to solve my problem
Dude that saved me hours of investigation. Worked perfectly (after reboot)

Thanks!!!
iamjono is offline  
Old 06-28-2019, 07:06 PM   #10
Shaneb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1
Default In addition to the security settings solution, I had to change my refresh rate.

I don't know if this is monitor specific, but with Mojave I had my two external monitors set to 60 Hertz and all was good but with the Catalina install, the refresh on the external monitor was lagging severely. Changing the refresh rate to 59.88 Hertz (NTSC) fixed this for me.
Shaneb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.