Go Back   DisplayLink Forum > DisplayLink Graphics Technology > Mac Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-08-2021, 09:00 PM   #1
JanB
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 35
Thumbs up HiDPI workaround

I wonder if "Better Dummy" (https://github.com/waydabber/BetterDummy) could help solve the HiDPI problem (more than 1920x1080 HiDPI on a 4K monitor).

Has anyone tried this?

Last edited by JanB; 11-19-2021 at 04:58 PM.
JanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2021, 09:26 PM   #2
JanB
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 35
Thumbs up

I have now tried the "BetterDummy" program and checked whether it can provide a solution for the missing HiDPI resolutions via DisplayLink.

The good news is: Yes, it is a woraround to get HiDPI representation via DisplayLink.

My configuration:
  • MacBook Air M1 (clamshell mode, internal display not used)
  • MacOS Monterey 12.0.1
  • 2x LG HDR 4k monitor (used @ Looks like 2560 x 1440)

Monitor # 1: connected via USB-C to display port adapter (working HiDPI @ 2560 x 1440)
Monitor # 2: connected via Display-Link Dock "Kensington SD4780P" (no HiDPI out of the box)


The Workaround for HiDPI on Monitor #2:

1.
Install and start "BetterDummy" from https://github.com/waydabber/BetterDummy/releases

2.
Create a dummy Display "16:9 (HD/4k/5k/6k)

3.
In the display properties set the "Dummy Display" to:
  • extended display
  • optimized for: Dummy 16:9
  • Resolution: default for display

4.
Switch Resolution of Dummy to desired HiDPI resolution (eg. 2560 x 1440) using the BetterDummy Menu: "Manage dummies" --> "Set resolution"

5.
Set your Display-Link Display in the display properties to:
  • mirror 16:9 dummy
  • optimized for: Dummy 16:9
  • Resolution: default for display

6.
Optional settings of BetterDummy:
--> Now you should have a 2560 x 1440 HiDPI @ 4k

My LG HDR 4k Monitor via DisplayLink is now running @ 3840x2160/60Hz showing 2560x1440 in a crystal clear picture.

This is not a straight forward solution, but now I have two external 4k monitors on my MacBook Air M1 that work with HiDPI to my fullest satisfaction.

Last edited by JanB; 11-19-2021 at 01:34 PM.
JanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2021, 06:12 AM   #3
Paulus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JanB View Post

My LG HDR 4k Monitor via DisplayLink is now running @ 3840x2160/60Hz showing 2560x1440 in a crystal clear picture. Tools as RDM now showing tons of HiDPI resolutions.

This is not an easy solution, but now I have two external 4k monitors on my MacBook Air M1 that work with HiDPI to my fullest satisfaction.
Thank you for this tutorial.

I got this workaround to work. I use two identical LG 32UP550-W 4k displays. One is natively connected, the other one through DisplayLink.

However I don't experience a crystal clear picture like you describe. It is a lot better than the blurry native MacOS option, but it is not even close to the crispness that the natively connected display has. Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks!
Paulus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2021, 07:35 AM   #4
JanB
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulus View Post

However I don't experience a crystal clear picture like you describe. It is a lot better than the blurry native MacOS option, but it is not even close to the crispness that the natively connected display has. Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks!
Does your Monitor show on the onscreen Menu, that it is running @4k?


[Edit: I noticed that changing the screen resolution with RDM does not work in conjunction with BetterDummy: When selecting a resolution marked as HiDPI with RDM, no HiDPI is sent to the monitor (the monitor then no longer runs at 4k)!]

Last edited by JanB; 11-10-2021 at 07:50 AM.
JanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2021, 06:30 PM   #5
tommiy
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 92
Default

worls well on the 2020 m1 mac. At least now the display does not give you headaches. Guess Displaylink does not need to do anything to the feature request now as some one elses out of the box thinking has solved it.
tommiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2021, 05:01 AM   #6
JanB
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tommiy View Post
Guess Displaylink does not need to do anything to the feature request now as some one elses out of the box thinking has solved it.
I still hope that the DisplayLink drivers will be extended to include more HiDPI resolutions. That would be much easier for the average user.
JanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2022, 11:23 AM   #7
ScompX
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 1
Default

Hi

I also cannot get it work. It is blurry to me as well. @JanB, I wrote you a PM. Could you possibly helpt?

Best regards.
ScompX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.